Landed my first dev job

I was not sure about making another “got a job” post but I wanted to add another storyline. I think one of the best pieces of advice I can give is, do it your way. There is a mountain of advice on the internet and not all of it will work for you. You have to trust yourself and just keep going.

My Story:
I started learning web-dev in Aug 2017. I moved out of my home in September, spent the last year traveling, living with friends, doing other business ventures. So, practice came in sprints with large gaps (that sucked).

I started on FCC. I then moved to The Odin Project. Worked on that for about a month before I realized I did not like that method of learning (I’m a video tutorial guy). Then I bought Colt Steele’s intro to web dev course on Udemy. I loved that and completed it in about a month.

I built a portfolio and started applying for jobs. Which produced mixed results, which I chronicle below.

I then bought Colt Steele’s advanced web dev tutorial, Stephen Girder’s Coding Interview Bootcamp, and Girder’s Modern React with Redux all from Udemy. I completed and partially completed those courses and added cool projects to my portfolio the whole time.

At the time, I thought that my portfolio was not good enough and that I needed to add better projects and pad my resume with some more tech. Honestly, I’m not sure if that was important or not.

How I applied:
I used:

• Angel.co(my favorite website, but few Junior positions. I talked to 5 companies through them).
  • Indeed, LinkedIn, Monster, Dice, and Glassdoor (never heard a single thing from these sites)
  • Recruiters who contacted me (never had anything good from these either)
  • A local recruiting company called Repurpose.co (got my job from these folks. )