Learning C.S. while working two jobs: Can it be done?

This year, I’ve decided to commit to working at least one job and working on getting my own place, but since I’ve never tried getting a place on my own before, I was terribly surprised by how expensive and complex it is to get a place in a small town.

Wanting to make sure I can support myelf and move out of my parent’s house, I’ve decided to try and get a second job on the weekends.

The only problem is, I don’t know how I’m going to pursue a career in cybersecurity or experiment with robotics while working two jobs.

I also don’t know how it’s going to play into me going to college again. I can afford to go back now that I have more financial aid, but I want to earn scholarships, and I need to learn to commit to something, like a regular job.

Yet, trying to work two jobs while living in a small town feels like the end of any of my aspirations and life goals.

What do you think?

Have you looked into going to Community Colleges for the first 2 years?
Have you applied to any scholarship/grants?

It’s a very difficult task that you’ve set yourself. Hopefully with some time and experimentation, you can find a way to manage your time to work towards your goals and also take care of your physical, mental, and social well-being.

2 Likes

Someone told me community college wouldn’t be good enough, and that for something like cybersecurity or robotics, I would need at least a Bachelor’s degree.

To be honest, I don’t even know where to begin looking for and applying for scholarships. I DO think I qualify for the HOPE scholarship, though.

First 2 yrs, CC, then transfer to the college/university of your choice for 3rd and 4th year. You’ll save a lot of money getting all the minor subjects out of the way, paid for, cheaper at CC.

I assume you have checked this out?
https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/

There are also 20 or so states that offer free college tuition. See if your state is one of them.