Looking for advice-1

Ok. Here is my story. I have a partial PhD in molecular biology. I had to quit because my adviser basically just ran out of money despite us all doing good work. I’m applying to several schools now for Fall 2019 admissions and all of the grad coordinators think I’m a strong candidate. However, I’m a bit reluctant, because I know how tough these programs are, especially with the experimental work.
I found FCC and I love it. I’m breezing through the lessons, with some help from this site. What are the chances of getting a REAL job after completing this course? On the flip-side, I can tack on code to my “tool-kit” as a biologist if I actually do decide to start another PhD. I have plenty of time. I will be done with this course well before August 2019.

What do you think?

Getting a real job after only doing FCC will be difficult as it only covers basics. You will need other resources to practice and train yourself before getting a job. There are other posts on getting a developer job category who have asked similar questions for your info.

Good luck :slight_smile:

I’m a former graduate student in microbiology. As of right now, I am gainfully employed as a junior developer.

I’d say if you’re counting on just completing the FCC curriculum leading to employment, the chances are pretty slim unless you are well connected or very fortunate. To really establish an employable foundation, more advanced topics need to be covered, and perhaps more importantly, practices of various forms are required. Data Structure, Algorithm, as well as programming and system design concepts. FCC, for the most part, I’d say leans on the easier side of the programming. It is technically all you need for a junior web developer job, but the depth can ramp up quickly on a job.