Looking for critique on my CV and personal page that I'm going to apply for jobs with

Hi Campers, my page is http://bradleybaylis.me and my CV can be found here. I would appreciate any feedback on my CV, projects or personal page/portfolio. Am i good enough?

Additionally, I’ve marketed myself as a full stack developer on my page and CV, because that is what I would really like to get into, but the reality is I have significantly more experience in front end endeavours then back end. I do have some experience with Node and Postgres though. Do yuo think this is an unwise move?

Thanks

2 Likes

Hey Brad,

I do like the fact you self taught through a bachelors however I would emphasize projects and topics covered, such as software design patterns, modular design, recursion, SSH, etc.) and I like seeing good scores in mathematics.

However I don’t think your portfolio sets you apart with a tic tac toe game and a templated project from the Udemy reactjs course from Andrei Neagoie, who is excellent but if I saw this I want to see something from explicitly from you and as an employer I’d want to see your ideas and what you can do without a tutorial. On this note try to finish the unique projects from freecodecamp as well as create a game that uses a more dynamic output (someone on here took 3 months to create a javascript tetris, yes that’s three months but it was very impressive)

I think It’s stronger and better to have a resume page typed out about the projects you did, link the source to github and get lots and lots of feedback as well (go to developer meetups in your area). In addition list and update to github if you can some of the mundane. Private Github Euler project progress, link to hackerrank, post your dabblings on codepen and if you do photography try to make a web page that hosts it and isn’t a bootstrap template.