Looking for mentor or others to connect while learning

I don’t know if this is better suited to the general category but here it goes:

I’m starting the FCCamp CV. I have some very minor experience with HTML and C, mostly embedded.
I run my own website and I want to be able to do cool things in programming and HTML, ultimately providing a content hub or business opportunity and I think becoming a developer can certainly help with these.

Being Self taught, however, is a challenge and I am looking for others, which are just starting, to have regular calls and catch up - sort of group where we can connect and have something to relate to each other.

I’m taking my time with the courses. I want to know what is available and take notes of it, so as to give me the best chances later. So I plan to cover the lessons fully, take notes and make some sort of project at the end.

A mentor would be nice as well - if someone wants to volunteer and share some experience.
It seems, as with most IT/Engineering jobs these days, experience is always required, but for people starting it is hard to get this sort of experience in the first place.

Many thanks to all who comment or want to take part!

4 Likes

This sounds like a great idea! I would be all for a way to connect to learn off each other. Maybe like a discord channel for anyone that’s interested? Being self taught and looking to break into the developer field as well, we could have some sort of group project? That would give some good real world experience in working with a team, which is definitely something that other’s and myself are probably needing.

1 Like

On this forum you have a community of thousands of people who are here for you when you have questions, need help, want advice, or just need to talk something through.

1 Like

I see from some other posts you appear to have some background level experience - what kind of things would you like to connect about?