Looking to get out of the defense industry - not sure what skills/technologies I should be focusing on or whether or not I should pursue a second degree in CS

Hi all. I’m at a bit of a crossroads right now. I’m a bootcamp grad (with a history degree) and have been working in the defense industry for a little over two years now doing primarily backend Java - my current company is a pretty well known and reputable defense contractor. I have certain credentials which made it a bit easier for me to get a decent paying job quickly which is primarily why I’m currently in the defense industry.

That being said, for a number of reasons I want to get out of the defense industry and go commercial but I’m struggling to figure out the best way to do so and how to best focus my efforts. Ideally I’d like to get a full-stack position but I haven’t done much front-end coding since my bootcamp minus a couple side projects here at freeCodeCamp. I don’t know whether I should just buckle down on my own and learn (or re-learn) a stack or whether it would be worth it to go back to school and get a CS degree through a post-postbaccalaureate CS program. If I were to learn on my own I don’t really know what stack to focus on, and if I were to go back to school I’d need to get some math pre-reqs done since I haven’t done any math since my freshman year of college 13 years ago, not to mention the cost of going back to school.

A bit lost in the sauce right now and looking for some guidance. If there’s additional pertinent information I left out please let me know and I’ll include it.

I think because you already have dev experience you can just start the process of applying for a new job/role.

Really depends what you want to be doing because you said you wanted full stack but don’t know what stack to learn? I could provide advice but I’d need to know what your exact question is.

I’m assuming your bootcamp would have resources too so check that out.

Really depends what you want to be doing