My first Open Source contribution

My first Open Source contribution.

Last week I made my first open source contribution. Today I am working on my second one.

I wanted to tell you guys about my experience, the problems I ran into, and what I learned from contributing to Open Source software. The goal with this blog/post is to inspire others to do the same.

My Background

I started my FCC journey in March 2016 and acquired my front-end certificate recently. I hold a BSc in Industrial Engineering, so I had some prior programming experience with Matlab/R/LaTeX, but none with Javascript. This gave me advantage in solving the numerical algorithms in FCC curriculum. Anything unrelated to that, I was just as wet behind the ears as the average Joe.

How I got started to contributing

Couple of months ago, I read an article on how to land your first open source contribution, from your browser, in 15 minutes. I surfed the web for something I could contribute to.

I found nothing.

Everything I found was out of my league. From FCC I have learned that when facing a problem which is way over your head, you take a step back, gather more knowledge, then come back to that same problem.

Months passed and I gained more coding knowledge. I felt confident enough to go back to the aforementioned problem. I came across an open source audio player, Zen Audio Player, where you can listen to YouTube videos, without the distracting visuals. They had this issue

It looked simple enough. The presenting player only had one demo song, so I all had to do was to implement a code that would play a random demo from a chosen list. Easy job.

It was not so simple.

The procedure

Writing the code was straightforward, but the whole procedure was not.

Before I started, I had lots of questions on my mind (and still do), i.e. should I ask them to assign me to that issue before I wrote down any code? If so, what would happen if I couldn’t solve it?