My Latest Project: Simple Calculator

My Latest Project: Simple Calculator

Hello, FreeCodeCampers.

I’ve created simple calculator based on one of projects from this site. A few hours ago I faced some problems but thanks to @purpose50 I already solved them.

I use React and Redux to create this app. Maybe it doesn’t need Redux but I want to practice my Redux.

The link of the app: https://mrfazry.github.io/simple-calc
The link of the source code: https://github.com/mrfazry/simple-calc.git

I need some feedback both functionality and design. Especially the latter since I’m not good at design. Maybe someone can give me some suggestions about the design.

As of now the buttons are still default, I haven’t designed them. Maybe I will enlarge the text of the buttons.

Feedback on refactoring the source code is also welcomed.

Thank you.

Overall it looks pretty good - I don’t know what to say about the design, that design is good enough for a calculator I think, as a calculator is not something that needs to look fancy - I guess I would say to try and make it more “fun”, that probably doesn’t help much… I always add cursor: pointer; in my css to buttons to let people know they are clickable, even though in this case that’s already pretty obvious - the dual numbers on the screen aren’t necessarily confusing but I think they could be better, like when I hit the = button for 9x9 both numbers just say 81, perhaps keeping the calculation that got you there as one of the numbers might be a little more useful - the only real issue I see is having to do with decimal calculations, try 0.2x0.2, you don’t get what you want - this article I found real quick might help https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2876536/precise-financial-calculation-in-javascript-what-are-the-gotchas

I would recommend to always upload to github only plain version of your files not the minified ones.

Thanks for the feedback.