My Situation: Work Experience

This is my story. I have been doing simple web development (HTML, CSS, some action-script) since 2008 as a freelancer. I couldn’t find a job due to the recession, so I became freelancer.After the recession, I tried to get back into the field, but couldn’t find a full time opportunity. They were all mostly contract positions. So I gave up temporarily and decided to look elsewhere. I got a degree in Healthcare Administration and Informatics

But this past 2 years I have rediscovered my passion for web development and IT in general. I have learnt that some my programming skills are transferal to Health Informatics. I have recently learned Python and SQL (picked up SQL from grad school). I have brush-up and updated my skills in HTML and CSS thanks to Udemy and freecodecamp. I am now learning Javascript and data visualization. I have completed many tutorials on Udemy and Freecode camp. I am thinking of getting a certificate from Udacity or team treehouse. My main focus are Front end web development and data Visualization.

But I lack the experience employers are looking for. I am trying to find ways to put my newly acquired skills to use. I have been looking at volunteer for non-profit. I am currently putting together professional portfolio. I am also looking at the possibility of establishing a side gig and maybe a full time business. In short, I am trying to find an alternative way to get the much needed experience that is holding me back.

I would like to get your insights and opinions as to how you would go about addressing this issue. I would appreciate any advice and insights you have to offer. It will really go a long way.

1 Like