Need a little encouragement

Hey everybody,

I have been going through the FCC program and am now in the basic algorithm scripting section. I just started looking into coding for the first time back in June. To be honest, I am having a really difficult time getting through the algorithm scripting section. When I finally break down and look at the hints I feel like I am thinking in the right direction, but not quite to the point where I am thinking like a programmer. Is is normal to struggle in this sections?

Also, does anybody have any tips on how to approach coding challenges like this? Like breaking down the challenge into smaller problems or something?

2 Likes

Yes, definitely. I was a programmer years ago and like to think I have a very logical, algorithmic mind, and a few of those set me on my heels.

Don’t worry about it, just learn. Everyone struggles with something. In the words of Will Rogers, “Everybody’s ignorant, just on different subjects.” Maybe you’ll be better at some other aspect of the job, like design or networking, two areas where I suck.

Just persevere. And learn.

Yes, where possible, always break it down into steps and test those steps. If you have the right idea about what those steps are, and you build and test them correctly, then when you put them together, it will work. But be patient. It takes a while. Eventually you’ll develop a sense for these things and how to approach them. You’ll develop a sense for how to plan them.

There are plenty of books and blogs and videos stepping though algorithms, I might take a look at some of those. After you finish an FCC algorithm, maybe check youtube and see if someone else solved it a different way. Understand their approach. Sometimes there is one best solution. Sometimes there are a few.

Just be patient and learn. If this were easy, then everyone would do it and it would pay minimum wage. The fact that it is difficult means good wages and job security. It’s a good thing.

2 Likes