Need advice on bootcamp

Need advice on bootcamp

Hey guys. I graduated from a community college a few months ago with an associate’s in Computer Programming and Web Programming. I have a portfolio (adace123.github.io/portfolio-site) with a number of projects under my belt, but the job search has been tough so far. After having applied to numerous companies, nothing much has turned up.

Thus, I’m thinking of joining a bootcamp. The one I’m leaning towards is Lambda School because of their income-sharing agreement and job/salary guarantee, as well as their more in-depth curriculum as compared with other bootcamps. I’m also considering the Thinkful because of the lower cost of their part-time bootcamp but the issues I have with them are that there’s no salary guarantee and they count a “paid apprenticeship” as having fulfilled the job guarantee.

Overall though, I’m really not sure about a bootcamp because, while I would most likely benefit from it, the massive time and money commitment makes is making me have second thoughts.

So my questions to you boil down to:

1. Should go for a bootcamp or hold out and keep applying?
  2. What do you think about Lambda School and their income-sharing agreement? Is there any other similar bootcamp that I should consider?

Thanks.

My personal opinion. Take it FWIW.

Paid/For-profit Bootcamps have gotten a bad rap due to the money grab. It seems most of them are just telling students what to study, and the student just do the studying on their own anyway. So basically, boils down to you’re just paying for the company connections, hoping that you’ll get hired by their company contacts after you graduate. Then now, there’s this new thing of salary sharing, where they get a cut percentage of your salary. Yikes! Anyways, lots of BCs are closing right now, it’s unsustainable. They seem to be the new class of for-profit school/colleges that are in fad right now.