Need help with site design and color combinations

is anyone here good with colour combinations and good design.
I have a website I am building but it’s not having this wow effect.
It’s not as beautiful as it should be.
could you guys help me make this site look more beautiful?
I am making this for a friend and he says it’s looking too plain.
turns out I am not that good with the design part and the color combinations.
here’s the snapshot of the site -

please help out.

Disclaimer: I have no training in design. Below are just things that I personally find helpful in the process of working on my own projects, and also some general comments on how I would feel as a customer on your design:

• The colour combination looks bland because they look like something that you would from 1970 prints—particularlly the main background colour, title colour (that dried blood red) and the brownish border of the top picture. I think it’s also partly because of the colours in the picture (but I can’t say for sure). These may help (in no particular order and/or combinations):
    • A bottom-up approach is to remove all colours except for those for the footer and header to begin with—only add another colour when it brings out contrast and meaning.
    • Use a colour palette developed by someone—there are many of these sites out there and I’m not sure which is better or worse (Google!). Although I think you should start with an idea first—does the company have a colour scheme already (I hope it’s not those already in the mockup) or something that you can build upon? What is the business about? If it’s an environment-focused business perhaps you could choose a green colour scheme, for example
    • This Medium article by Jonathan White may help, even if it’s for future reference.