Need some advice on self branding

OK, now looking at the title, I now see that it reads like some kind of kinky masochistic thing. But I’m going to push on.

So, I’m at a point now where I need to start thinking about putting together a portfolio page. To do that, I need a web site, which means I need to choose a name. Obviously it needs to be something professional sounding, that gets the point across and something available that I can use across platforms.

Any ideas? Obviously, my identity of “ksjazzguitar” doesn’t work.

If I think of a name for the title bar of the web page, something like Kevin Smith Web Development. It seems long to me. Kevin Smith Coding? That doesn’t sound professional to me. Does Kevin Smith Programming sound too old fashioned? I considered going with Kevin Smith Development because “development” can also refer to nonprofit fundraising where I also work as a grant writer, but maybe it’s best to keep them separate, and that’s dying down anyway. I suppose it doesn’t have to have my name in it. I don’t know, something like Blue Onion Web Development could work? (Just picking a name at random there.)

I’ve looked at domain names and unfortunately kswebdev.com is already taken by domain squatters.

Maybe I’m over thinking this, but once I decide, I’m kind of stuck with it.

Any advice?

Mine is just my name…I didnt want to get too fancy or too specific with my domain name because I wanted to have it forever and to be as flexible as possible, no matter where I am in life. Also, I figured…if someone is trying to remember my website, all they need is my name. But I can tell you right now, that only sounds great in theory. After 10 years, family and close friends still tell me they forgot my website url, and when Im like…its my name…my name!! And you have my business card too…like 5 of them! They then say ooooh thats right! Only to ask me again later. Not a gripe, I find it funny actually. :smiley: