Need Some Help!

Hi,
I am a beginner in programming. I started to learn to program since Jan 2017. I got confused and wasted a lot of time due to the variety of the sources and finally got stuck. I finished 119 challenges in the Front-End path but, I couldn’t make simple projects because I can’t understand positioning and elements distribution in CSS. So I decided to start over again the Front-End path and revise the main concepts maybe I missed somethings. What I need some advice or if someone had same experience can give me better solutions. Thank You.

Hello @Ahmed-Elbessfy,

I started about the same time you did and have had some success, I think. I love Front-End development: HTML, CSS, JQuery, Bootstrap, Flexbox. I need to find some resources on making images and working with graphics, I have no experience with that. What I did back in the beginning that I think helped is that I have been doing freeCodeCamp and Codecademy at the same time. I do similar courses from each and keep switching back and forth. I think it helps with repetition and to approach similar problems from two different angles. Also, I downloaded a code editor Atom and just make simple webpages with simple box div’s and practice moving them around the screen, adding various elements to them and changing their properties to see what happens. Working in a real editor lets you see what will really happen instead of using the web-editors from the websites that sometimes will pass your code even though the output is not what you desire.

Hey taking a break and coming back is a good strategy too. Getting away and processing what you have learned and realizing what you need to work on is a good strategy. Good Luck!

1 Like

@Ahmed-Elbessfy I think I can feel your struggle on CSS learning. I’m a quite beginner as well in programming since I just start to learn back in 2016 and now I still get (a lot of problem) when it come to CSS.