Need tips on courses to follow!

Hi Campers!

first of all this is my first time on the forum, so I hope i’m doing this right.

I was wondering, Since i’m really trying to be a developer. If anyone could give me any advice.

I have a family at home so there’s no option for me to go to an actual university to study coding. I work in delivery wich is not what i want for the rest of my life. So I’m very happy to have finally found something so cool to do, so welcoming for rookies like me and so much possibilities on the job market!

but now i’m trying to truly invest my time smart. I started courses on Codeschool.com, a developer advised it to me and it’s a very good site. Except that they don’t have any real form of network or contact abilities and the whole community that freecode does have.
It’s really just the course there. I found freecodecamp by Google-ing around looking for recommended courses. I did freecodecamp the side a little just to see if I remembered what i learned on Codeschool. But as i’m progressing in freecodecamp i notice that this is way cooler! Just today i joined the forum and the facebook page for Amsterdam, i really want to get involved and learn more as fast as i can (note that this isn’t very fast since quality time with my family is very important).

Now for my question.
Does anyone have experience with Codeschool? Or does anyone have any advice for me on what course to follow? should i just focus on freecodecamp or just focus on codeschool? what are my chances on getting a job if i stay at freecodecamp?
I don’t want to mess this up or waste my time, since i have a daughter who’s two years old now. So any career path should be definite and should start as soon as possible!
I know it’s a lot to ask for life changing decisions on a forum :wink:. but any tips will do, plus i love this whole coding community and feel like i should be able to ask such a big question!

thank you for your time!

1 Like

Read this from P1xt.