New coder on the block! Tips on avoiding burnout?

Hey everyone,

Fritoking here mostly just wanting to say hello and searching for some advice on how often most people spend not just coding, but LEARNING to code. I’m reading lots of different opinions and strategies on how much time you should be spending per day. I know the ideal answer is “whatever works for you” (so please avoid that if you can), but I just want someone with real life experiences to tell me what they did (and what worked/didn’t work). The more specific the better! Even a complete hour by hour itinerary or “day in the life” would be cool. Hopefully that doesn’t seem too daunting. Maybe there’s already something like that posted in this forum? I just thought it’d be nice to get a little more personal with this post.

Other info on myself:

• I am a video editing freelancer looking to add web dev into my arsenal of skills to make websites and apps for myself as well as other people. (What kind of websites and apps? I don’t know quite yet)
  • I have the convenience of time on my side. My work weeks are usually only about 15 hours long, which supports me (for now) so I’m trying to take advantage of that as much as possible.

Any and all advice is appreciated. I am also a believer of tough love so don’t be afraid to be brutally honest in any shape or form. Thanks!

Welcome fritoking.

I spend around 50 hours a week working my day job with commuting and also powerlift three days a week which takes about 9 hours total. So during the weekdays i usually dont code at all. But on saturdays and sunday i usually wake up and do between 2-5 hours coding each day. I think it’s important to live life aswell and not only have obligations all the time so i also enjoy myself when i can. Usually i can feel a bit bored and dreaded if i have spent to much time working and coding and not enjoyed myself.