New to FCC and codepen, I have one question

Hi all

I’m finding the editor in code pen rather frustrating. Although I love the way it works, I get annoyed at not being able to see more of my code at once and find myself scrolling up and down rather a lot.
I guess if I was a better coder, this wouldn’t be such an issue so my question is…

Does anyone else use an external code editor end then copy and paste the code into codepen when finished?

I like using Visual Studio Code and with the ‘view on live server’ option, it works great.

I just wanted to know what other people thought

Many thanks

Paul

Codepen is great to get things started, but thats about it. As you stated VSCode with the live-server extension works great because your using a legit text editor.

If you know how to use external tools I recommend using them over codepen. I heard people submit some projects using github pages, rather than hosting them on codepen. (Idk if this is valid, or was ever valid so take it with a grain of salt hehe)

1 Like

I’m also using VSCode i guess everbody does nowadays, but you can try various online code editors such as these:

1. https://codesandbox.io/
  2. https://thimble.mozilla.org/en-US/
  3. http://jsbin.com/?html,output
  4. https://jsfiddle.net/
1 Like

Thanks for your input, really appreciated :grinning:

I personally prefer to stick to Codepen for FCC stuff (and other projects I’m not creating to be used in “the real world”). There’s several reasons why:

• Easy sharing/collaboration. People can easily view your project/code and even fork it to help resolve issues.
  • No setup. Tooling is pretty simplified for this in VSCode and other editors, but for Codepen there really is none. Including External CSS/JS is much easier and less mistake prone. This rules out tooling and related stuff being a project issue which makes troubleshooting more difficult for someone trying to help out.