New to FCC, feeling lost already

I have a little experience with HTML and CSS already, but haven’t worked with them in awhile and it was always for school projects. I’m finding it difficult to get used to the way FCC tends to toss you into CSS along with HTML at the same time. Other coding websites tend to teach HTML first, then CSS. I know it’s just a matter of getting used to the system and how they teach, but did anyone else feel totally confused and overwhelmed by this when they first began this course?

A little background: I’m a former graphic designer who got her degree in design, but then became disabled and couldn’t do much with it (without web design knowledge, it’s been impossible getting freelance work I can do from home). I’m now trying to learn coding so I can, hopefully, have some kind of income to supplement my husband’s. Life has been difficult financially, but even a few hundred bucks a month would help a lot. Am I deluding myself that this is possible or is working from home an actual possibility in this field?

3 Likes