Newb stuck in asynchronous black hole - Wikipedia Viewer [SOLVED]

Hi,

Total newb here, way over my head.

I’ve gone down the rabbit hole on the Wikipedia reader project here:](http://codepen.io/Arthurauthor/pen/YNpPaK).

My problem is returning the value for the variable wikiImgUrl at line 107 so that I can get the associate image for the wikipedia article (if if has one).

I’ve beeing trying for days to find a way out of this asynchronous hell hole I’ve created for myself, but can’t work it out

wikiImgUrl is currently declared globally at line 3 - which I know is useless - as this is what is grabbed at line 107 .

What I want is the value that is populated at line 87 (or 90 depending on if statement).is the one that get used at line 107.

Help much appreciated.

Why not just move your append statement to the end of your if statement?

Forked CodePen

Unless I’m missing something.

Thanks heaps for the reply @cjsheets,

When I move the append statement it returns only the last wikipedia article from the search but it does collect the right amount of images.

This is where I am stuck - I can either get the images in the right place or the wikipedia articles, but not both.

I think this is because of how many function statements I’'ve got and where everything is placed within the code, but I just can’t work a solution.

Hi @Arthurauthor

The problem you’re having is to do with how variables are scoped in JavaScript.

var is function scoped, not block scoped; what this means is that when your loop finishes, those nested ajax callbacks are going to be reading from the same url, that’s why you see it repeated when you moved the append statement inside the image callback.

Now, you need append to be inside the image callback because you need all the data before you can update the DOM. The easiest way I can think of to resolve the issue is by using the let keyword.