Newbie here and need some help

I am currently in a Python class (my first time ever with Python), and i have a hoework assignment that i am having trouble with. Here is the assignment:

Write a program that queries information from three files. The first file (data1.txt) contains the names and telephone numbers of a group of people. The second file (data2.txt) contains the names and Social Security numbers of a group of people. The third file (data3.txt) contains the Social Security numbers and annual incomes of a group of people. The groups of people should overlap but need not be completely identical. Your program should ask the use for a telephone number and then print the name, Social Security number, and annual income, if it can determine that information.

Data1.txt:

Bob, 555-1234
Matthew, 555-2345
Mark, 555-3456
Luke, 000-1234
John, 000-2345

Data2.txt
Matthew, 000000001
Mark, 000000002
Luke, 000000003
Joe, 000000004

Data3.txt
000000001, 55000
000000003, 65000
000000004, 70000
000000007, 10000000

Here is what I have coded thus far, but i am truly stuck:

dataFile = open("data1.txt", "r")

dataFile2 = open("data2.txt", "r")

dataFile3 = open("data3.txt", "r")

for line in dataFile:

x = line.split(",")

for line in dataFile2:

x = line.split(",")

for line in dataFile3:

x = line.split(",")

print ("Enter the phone number (7 digits, with a dash): ")

userInput = input("")

if userInput == dataFile(x[1]):

For now, start by making 3 dictionaries,

• one which has telephone numbers as keys and names as values,
  • one which has names as keys and social security numbers as values,
  • one which has social security numbers as keys and annual incomes as values

Then, you can ask the user for input and search through the dictionaries :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks! That makes sense…one question (and please forgive my ignorance), is how do you search via all the dictionaries? Nested If statements?

roughly something like:

name = dict1.get(telephone_number, None)