No Degree vs Degree?

Hello, my name is Justin and I am 26 years old, I live in Canada and I’ve been really interested in computers my whole life. When I was younger I always wanted to be a programmer but actually ended up gaming my time away and only learned basics. Currently I’m a third year electrical apprentice which is good money and it only goes up when I become a Journeyman but I’ve been looking into the possibility of making programming a part time thing and eventually switching full time. Reason being is planning for the future of not wanting to hurt my body over time through working a physically demanding job etc.

My question to most of you would be though, do you believe I would need a degree or I should be fine without a degree? I have never gone to University to study anything related and the only schooling I have actually done and plan to finish is my Electrical apprenticeship which is only 2 months out of the year for 4 years.

I was just curious if most of the people on this site have a background in school for their field or would it be possible for someone like me to switch? I’m sure I could actually go to University if I wanted to but I’m trying to avoid a 4 year program of where I wouldn’t be making anything since I am not in the financial means to do so at the moment. Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated.

You definitely can switch your career in programming. Nowadays programmer without a cse degree is very common. You can just teach yourself coding by following freeCodeCamp and many other great resource and get high paying job. You just have to give some time to it.

I am just a high school grad. After finishing my high school I learned coding fulltime for 6month by myself. After 6month I got my first job.

8 Likes

Oh really? So you didn’t go to University afterwards? How did you end up finding the job if you don’t mind me asking?

I am planning to go to university because now I can make enough money to pay fee.