Not easy to find a job as deaf person

Not easy to find a job as deaf person

Hello,

I’m from Chile, I’m deaf, I worked as a frontend developer for a year in the digital agency, I was fired on November 30, I was disappointed, I cant find a job although I’ve sent a lot of curriculum vitae, now I’m thinking that I’ll move to the USA (my grandmother is American) but I’ve to take the TOEFL test for improve my English, but I’ve been a programmer for 10 years.

Many companies arent willing to hire a disabled person for obvious reasons.

what i do now? fight or surrender? its not easy for me as deaf person.

:sleepy:

2 Likes

i am sorry to hear that.

2 Likes

Maybe try to apply for remote jobs, for some remote jobs most of the communication is handled via chat, so being deaf shouldn’t be a concern.

1 Like

NEVER SURRENDER. It’s simple. People can accomplish their goals as long as they don’t surrender. I heard some new developper applied to 200+ jobs and still didn’t find but eventually it worked. HE NEED ONE JOB OUT OF 200+, didn’t surrender AND GOT IT!

Keep applying, but do it well, I don’t know but I think a C.V isn’t enough. Distinguish yourself from others and believe in yourself.

1 Like

How find remote jobs?

0 Likes

0 Likes

In terms of trying to move to the US…