One filter function for multiple tables

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Javascript and am already running into a problem that i can’t seem to solve by myself.

I’ve got three functions. The first function is a filter function, which filters out a list and it works fine. The second function (onclick) then leads to a specific table. Works just fine as well.
Where my problem comes into play is the third function, the specific table with a filter element. There are going to be many tables so I can’t use document.getElementById. I did get it to work with alltables = document.querySelectorAll("table[data-name=mytable]"), but then it basically filters all tables in the background as well, which is not what I want. I tried to get it to work with document.getElementByClassName and by adding parameters to the function, but it just didn’t work out no matter what I tried. I just want the function to work with the specific table on screen.

I don’t know which of my attempts I should post codewise, but I guess document.getElementByClassName is the method to go, so this is what I have:

<input class="country" type="text" placeholder="Search for names.." id="Supaland" onkeyup="myFunction('Supaland', 'supalandTable')">

<table class="table" id="supalandTable">
    <tr>
function myFunction(countryName, tableName) {
  var input, filter, table, tr, td, i;
  input = document.getElementByClassName("country");
  filter = input.value.toUpperCase();
  table = document.getElementByClassName("table");
  tr = table.getElementsByTagName("tr");
  for (i = 0; i < tr.length; i++) {
    td = tr[i].getElementsByTagName("td")[0];
    if (td) {
      txtValue = td.textContent || td.innerText;
      if (txtValue.toUpperCase().indexOf(filter) > -1) {
        tr[i].style.display = "";
      } else {
        tr[i].style.display = "none";
      }
    }
  }
}

Any help would be highly appreciated! :slight_smile:

I don’t fully understand your description of what is going wrong.

Hi, thanks!