Please help me decide

Hi everyone,

I’ve recently found FreeCodeCamp.org and the forum. I studied engineering in college. Back then, my programming skills were not fantastic but not too bad either. At first, I dropped my first programming course (ANSI C) halfway through the course and didn’t sit for the final exam, but got B+ in the second time.

When I joined FreeCodeCamp, I wasn’t satisfied with the style/study materials provided. I found it somewhat simplistic. After browsing the forums, I found a thread that recommended studying the “You Don’t Know JS” series. I studied 5 of the 6 books. I can say I understood 80-85% of the topics covered in the series without too much trouble (I believe this is because of my background). After that, I tried to assess my knowledge by taking some tests. I passed a few basic JS tests, including W3Schools’ JS test and similar ones. Unfortunately, I failed Upwork’s JS test.

After failing that test, I started to doubt my ability to master what is needed to be a good developer. To make things worse, I came across a very demoralizing Quora post a couple of days ago (Link: https://www.quora.com/If-they-say-anyone-can-code-or-program”-why-are-so-few-doing-it-Why-will-there-be-2-million-unfilled-coding-jobs-by-2020). As you can see, the responses are from people who seem well-established and highly experienced (several of them have 25+ years of experience). Apparently, most of them are attacking the model of platforms like FreeCodeCamp and similar ones. Basically, they are saying that programming is a talent that one is born with and that most people simply cannot master it to a professional level.