Podcast: From homeschooler to self-taught full stack developer

Podcast: From homeschooler to self-taught full stack developer

In this week's episode of the freeCodeCamp podcast, Abbey chats with Madison Kanna, a full-stack developer who works remotely for Mediavine. Madison describes how homeschooling affected her future learning style, how she tackles imposter syndrome and failure, and how she helps others teach themselves to code.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/from-homeschooler-to-fullstack-developer/

I only got to listen to the first 10 minutes of this before my meetings this morning, but it is a great interview so far. I talked with Madison last week (she’s an author here on freeCodeCamp News) and she is incredibly thoughtful in everything she does.

Her advice is straightforward and actionable: don’t focus on what to learn - focus on how you’re learning it.

3 Likes

Ok - I finished listening to the interview, and have some more thoughts.

First of all, Madison is one of the most upbeat guests we’ve had on the podcast. It’s clear that she takes pride in her work as a developer and as a teacher.

Whenever she starts talks about her childhood - being homeschooled all the way through, with almost no structure at all - I get a bit envious. She spent months at a time deep diving into topics she was curious about like dinosaurs, or just digging really deep into a video game.

If someone can grow up with that little structure and still turn out as capable as she is, it really does call into question the necessity of a lot of my experience as a kid in late 20th century American schools. Madison is just an anecdote and may not be representative of homeschoolers in general, but it does give me something to think about.

Madison has some excellent book suggestions here, as well. I picked up Cal Newport’s Deep Work for me and @beaucarnes to read.