Portfolio Button Help

Hi everyone,
I’m very very new to this and stuck on an early stage of the project. I’m having issues placing my buttons on the row and they continue to end up stacked. I’ve searched, read, researched and I think my issue is in my lack of understanding of the col ( s , m, lg). Any help or guide in the right direction would be very much appreciated. Thanks all!

1 Like

Because you are using divs.
Try an unordered list.

Hey JohnnyBizzel,
I tried

before my the first <div class="row> and also tried
      within the col classes and they stayed stacked. Am I misunderstanding your instruction?

Not sure what layout you are looking for.

col-xl-3 class are set to have width 300px if your screen 1200px and larger. Any screen resolution below 1200px, the div column will stack on top of each other which is exactly what you are getting right now.

Change col-md-3 and you will see them all next to each other. If you resize your screen to 768px and below, it will stack.

1 Like

Yea…I’m not sure what layout I’m looking for either. But I think I’ve figured out how to get those buttons in a row. Thanks for the feedback!

1 Like

Can you explain better please…

Your class: container-fluid background-image have some padding left and right… Your hamburger does not show up nicely because of that paddings.

Now cols:
Read all of documentation for bootstrap grid(cols) here

But in your case, if you have 4 divs with class “col” , col will automatically calculate your width…
If you have width: 100% and 4 divs with class “col” it will bee 100/4 = 25% each, and that’s why you will have such space.

My opinion, you dont have to use bootstrap cols for navigation. Just use ul and li tags

Can you explain better please…
Hopefully this will be a better explanation,
I wanted my about, portfolio, contact, and dropdown menu to be next to each other at the top. I read up some more and added the nav bar and made the cols so that it will automatically calculate the width.