Primer before You Don't Know JS (YDKJS) series?

I’m a beginner, to date having finished most of the FCC Front End certification (just the advanced projects left!). The YDKJS series comes highly recommended on this forum and elsewhere, so I thought I’d give them a go. Although I’m gaining insight into some really powerful concepts (particularly things like scope and object prototypes), there’s a TON that I just completely fail to grasp (@@iterators? Symbols? wut?).

How much should I be understanding at this point? Is this just something I should power through and come back to later in my journey as a developer? Are there other books that would build my understanding to the level where the YDKJS series would be more beneficial?

Really interested to hear you all’s thoughts. Thanks!

Depends on what is the best learning process for you. I myself rush through books and accept that I only grasp some of the ideas. But I do a lot of coding everyday so I eventually discover new things and when some of the concepts become clearer I come back to those books and read more. Learning this way is easier and less painful for me. But like I said it depends. Some people jus can’t accept that they don’t understand something and in order to proceed further they have to accomplish every step. For me it’s different. I fully embrace my stupidity and let myself learn in the process :wink:

3 Likes

I’d suggest reading this thread, which is a bit similar to yours: https://forum.freecodecamp.com/t/advice-and-tips-for-a-beginner-learning-javascript/124357

Hey there!