Profile Lookup Challenge - Brick Wall

I’m on my 3rd go of the JavaScript section of FCC and everything mostly makes sense with the intro to arrays, objects, and For loops. But every time I get to the ‘Profile Lookup’ challenge it’s not just a gateway, it’s like a brick wall for me. For example I first tried to create a nested For loop because it has objects nested in an array so I assumed to reach the objects I’d have to nest another loop. Then when I look at hints and get to the conditional part I end up having to look that up too. Basically I wasn’t able to do any of it completely on my own without looking up the solution. Did this challenge break anyone else’s brain, or did most people know how to tackle it right away? I’m wondering if I should just throw in the towel. If I can’t do this I can’t imagine getting to the point that I could code a Simon game. Currently, I’m an IT Project Manager with a good job, but I really wanted to get into programming.

1 Like

If you share your solution(s) with explanations of what isn’t working and what your thought process is, then we can help nudge you in the right direction.

1 Like

Thanks, Ariel! I have the solution. It’s just that I had to look it up. My issue is that I couldn’t even do step 1 without looking it up. Let alone tackling the entire thing. I was just curious if that’s common, or if most people are able to get to that challenge and come close to resolving it without assistance.

People hit blocks at different points. Concepts that are intuitive to some are completely alien to others. In the future, don’t hesitate to reach out to fellow campers. A lot of the time we can help you understand ‘step 1’ (or whatever step you’re blocked on) in a way that lets you finish on your own.

1 Like