Python prospects for the self-taught?

Hi, FCC community!
I’m a beginner programmer, switching careers in my mid 30s after some health problems left me unfit for my previous, physically demanding career. I didn’t know where to start or what to learn, and Python came up again and again in Google searches. I’m very much into puzzles, and the process of creating algorithms in Python was immediately appealing. After a few months of learning, however, it’s starting to seem like the kind of jobs available with Python are largely in fields that will require a degree, which I don’t have and am not in a position to get at the moment. Is there a market for self-taught programmers using Python, and if so, where should I be putting my focus in order to hone the most valuable skills? Otherwise, would I be better served by completing the FCC curriculum and learning web development with JavaScript instead? Or is there a secret option C that I should be aware of? I won’t be losing much ground by starting over now.
Thanks in advance for your advice!

2 Likes

I started out by learning python because it is really a fun and easy language to learn. I moved into javascript mostly because of the job opportunities.

With that being said, back end development with Django or flask seems to be very popular. and it never hurts to have more than 1 programming language on your resume

4 Likes

Job prospect wise Python is gaining traction in the data-science field, and automation fields as its the most beginner friendly language out there, while still being very powerful and useful for a number of different cases.

Almost all languages will look for a degree for almost all jobs, this isn’t limited to just Python. Since most of the newer Python jobs are data-science related, these jobs usually always come with a degree necessary due to the complexity of the field.