Question about Software Development/Web Development

I would love to get into the field of software/web development. I am going to learn CSS, HTML, and JavaScript to get started, expanding as I go along. I really want to go the self-taught route without having to get a CS degree. However, I have a concern. I live in Wyoming, the smallest state population-wise, and there are a decent number of jobs with a wide range of requirements as of right now. First, it seems that every employer wants to see a Bachelors Degree in CS or related field in the job description. You can google software developer jobs in Wyoming to see what I mean. Do I really need something like that to successfully get a job that demands such a degree? Also, I feel a little overwhelmed by all of the other requirements that they are asking for such as different frameworks and other tools. There seems to be a lot and precisely what they want varies considerably from employer to employer. Does anyone think that Wyoming is just too small for a good startup job, or are the requirements the same way in larger cities? I am referring to junior positions, and like I said it seems like there is a lot that I need to know even when I start out. To make matters worse, requirements vary greatly so I could learn a great deal of things, but I would only qualify for one job in my area, and I am sure competition is tight. Where am I wrong with this, if at all, and what would you all suggest? Any help greatly appreciated. :grinning: