Questions About Freelancing

I have some questions for freelance web developers. I am going to start college in January and would like to use the skills that I have developed over the past year to earn money online while going to school.

Right now, I have a lot of theoretical knowledge but little practical knowledge - meaning that I have gone through a lot of courses but haven’t really built anything of my own - at least not anything that I want to show off.

I’d like to earn an income as a web developer and have the flexibility that working online affords, but I’m not very knowledgeable of what it’s like to be a freelance web developer.

1. What is the most common task that you are hired for? Small things, big things?
  2. How much do you charge for those task, and how long do they take to complete?
  3. How many hours a day do you typically work?
  4. How do you find clients? Do they contact you mostly or do you reach out to them on sites like Upwork?
  5. What does a typical contract look like?
  6. I do not consider myself to be very good at web design, how often do you need to design a site from scratch?
  7. What type of task do you usually prefer?

I’m stressed about this. I need to save up some money for a down on a car, and then I need to work to pay off all of the debt that I’m going to incur in the near future - the move, buying everything for my first apartment, ect.

I have knowledge of fullstack javascript.

HTML/CSS/Bootstrap/Flexbox/Grid/Sass

HTTP/JQuery/AJAX/Fetch/

Node/NPM/Gulp/Express/MongoDB/Mongoose/Redis and more.

1 Like

Most of my new clients say “We need a web site.” They usually just want a brochure site. I normally do the design and build for about $2000USD (in the Midwest), then set them up for recurring billing of $25/month for hosting which includes backups and security (my cost is $6/month each). I also optimize with Google/Bing, and help with some other online identity setup.