Random Quote Generator- please some feedback

Hello all!

I would like some constructive criticism on my small app.

https://lavpascu92.github.io/RandomQuoteGenerator/

Thanks! :blush:

I like it, you could add some loading icon while the quote is being fetched so that itā€™s not blank when you click new quote :slight_smile:

Iā€™m not sure about:

1. red text (with text-shadow) on green background
  2. Separating one heading between 3 tags
  3. Including API key in the client script

Maybe something like this?

1 Like

Thanks! I am not that good with design so I appreciate your response. It looks easier on the eyes with the yellow text.
It is the first time I use an API, where is the place to put the key? Why not in the client script? I really have no ideaā€¦
Do you know a good tutorial on how to use APIs?

Thatā€™s a good idea! I appreciate it! I shall look into this.

The reason you should not have api keys on the client side is because then anyone would be able to see your key and use it, you should treat your api keys like passwords.

You can watch this video for more info on hiding api keys: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17UVejOw3zA

After hiding your api key you should regenerate it as you exposed this one.

1 Like

I didnā€™t have any ideas whatsoever to add something new, but it looks nice.

1 Like

Thank you so much for the info! It really helped me!

@luvly92 Did you set up a back-end?

@mayankverma you are obviously right, the problem is you have linked to a node/express app.

If you follow the fCC curriculum chronologically this project is still early in the learning process to start dealing with hiding API keys using a back-end. Itā€™s great information and should be learned but the point in the curriculum where you get to the front-end projects is before you have learned anything about back-end and it is easier said then done to set up a back-end if you have never done it before.