Re-focusing on a language, need advice

I’ll try to keep this short and to the point. This may seem like a rant or rave but really I’m seeking advice.

Short story: So, I was hired as a developer at a company I work for and had a previous non-coding job at. My boss knew my lack of development experience (at the time I had 8 months self-taught experience in html/css/javascript) but she needed someone asap. I was then thrown into a pit of fire! I was basically attempting to learn C# (all everything that goes with it like .NET, LINQ, etc), Angular 1 and 2, React, Typescript, Entity Framework, JavaScript 2015, and I’m sure I’m missing a few others. After a little over 3 months she feels I’m not catching on as quickly since she has to go over things that we previously had talked about days ago. As you can see this is pure frustration for both of us. Her recommendations on where I should focus on change weekly, sometimes daily. On one day she even said I should go back to learning basic programming logic (more or less referring to FCC algorithm challenges).

So, I’m making a decision that I need to focus on something in my free time rather than jumping around as she suggests.

The current app I work on is in C#, Entity Framework, Typescript, JavaScript 2015, and React. However, after this app comes to a completion state she has to find out which project to put me on next. Other Apps we use everything from the above but instead of React its with Angular 1 and soon Angular 2.

So my plan is to start building a few apps at home and deep dive into a language. Anyone have any suggestions on where to start? What would make the most sense given the above?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like