Reactjs D3js Responsiveness With SVG's

Reactjs D3js Responsiveness With SVG's

Hello there,

I’m new to both Reactjs and D3js and I’m trying to create a responsiveness svg. I went down a rabbit hole in the internet, and I worked out a simple solution that follows a concept of allowing D3js to take over the DOM for the svg element specifically. I’m aware that Reactjs and D3js can clash because they both manipulate the DOM, so I’m trying to do this carefully.

import React, { Component } from 'react';
import { select } from 'd3';

class SvgComponent extends Component {
  constructor(){
    super();

this.svgPlayground = this.svgPlayground.bind(this);
  }

componentDidMount(){

// Initially invoking the function at least once, and then allowing the event listener to invoke again
    window.addEventListener('resize', this.svgPlayground);
    this.svgPlayground();
  }

shouldComponentUpdate(){
    return false; // Preventing re-rendering???
  }

componentWillUnmount(){
    window.removeEventListener('resize', this.svgPlayground);
  }

svgPlayground() { 
    const node = this.node;
    let { width, height } = node.getBoundingClientRect(); // Getting current width and height of the svg elem

// Using General Update Pattern to assign/update the dimensions of both svg and the rect
    let svg = select(node).data([null]);
    svg.enter().append('svg')
    .merge(svg)
    .attr('width', width)
    .attr('height', height);

const rect = svg.selectAll('rect').data([null]);
    rect.enter().append('rect')
    .merge(rect)
    .attr('width', width)
    .attr('height', height)
    .attr('rx', 100);
  }

render() {
    /* In my SCSS file I have set svg to 100% for both width/height to a svg container of 
    width: 1100px and  height: 50vh  */
    return(
      <svg ref={ node => this.node = node }></svg>
    );
  }
}

export default SvgComponent;

I’m unsure if my code is following this approach correctly, or if I’m doing it wrong.