Recent CS graduate needing advice on finding my first junior developer job. Getting desperate and discouraged

Hi all,

I’ve been worrying a lot lately. I graduated with a BS in CS this past December and since then I’ve been applying to some jobs. No one has called or contacted me and its been four months since graduating. Is there something I’m doing wrong? College doesn’t teach you a thing about how to find a job in the computer science field after graduating and I am struggling. There isn’t that many entry-level position postings compared to the non-entry-level positions. If I do find entry-level positions, they ask for so much to know in different technologies that wasn’t taught at my school. Nevertheless, I apply to the entry-level/jr postings that I find and just wait for no one to contact me later on. As the time to start paying off my student loans gets closer, I am stressing out. I went into the field because of my interest in programming and technology and thought that since programmers are always needed in any field that it wouldn’t be that hard to get a job. I was wrong. I just want to start my real career. I just want any entry-level position in CS. I want to start building my life instead of staying in my side-job in fast food. I guess my question now is if there is any advice/motivation that anyone has regarding finding an entry-level job in the CS field? I definitely need it…

Getting your foot into the door is very challenging indeed.

I would look at articles under this category. http://forum.freecodecamp.org/c/getting-a-developer-job

There are hundreds of them sharing experiences on how they got their first jobs. You will find them helpful :slight_smile:

Job hunting is definitely really difficult – in my experience and those I’ve spoken to, finding that first job is the hardest. Some advice: