Refactor Global Variables Out of Functions-WuTangStyle

Tell us what’s happening:

Salve, mundi!

I’m new to FCC and even newer to the forum - forgive me if anything I post is overly basic!

Spent hours working on this problem and have finally produced a solution. I have two intents w/ this post…the first is to give a simple solution for beginners that actually works (traversed many forum posts, wasnt able to find one that worked+made sense to me as a beginner).

My second intent is to inquire about the difference between “let” and “var”, both in this challenge and in general.
My current understanding is that ‘let’ is for declaring variables in a limited block or scope while ‘var’ makes global variables or local to an entire function. So my question is why I had to change ‘let’ to ‘var’ within my remove function to make the code run. If ‘let’ is declared within a function is it not global to the function…?

Thanks for any input!

TL;DR: 1. heres a working solution
2. what’s the practical difference between let and var within a function?

Your code so far

function add (john, bookName) {
  var john = [...bookList];
  john.push(bookName);
  return john;
  // Add your code above this line
}

function remove (bookList, bookName) {
  if (bookList.indexOf(bookName) >= 0) {
    **var** john = [...bookList];
    **var** elyse = john.indexOf(bookName);
    john.splice(elyse, 1)
    return john;

}
}

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/68.0.3440.106 Safari/537.36.

Link to the challenge:
https://learn.freecodecamp.org/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/functional-programming/refactor-global-variables-out-of-functions

The exercise was to avoid using bookList as a global variable accessed within the functions. Your add function fails in this regard:

function add (john, bookName) {
  var john = [...**bookList**];
  john.push(bookName);
  return john;
}

It should be