Remote jobs with no work experience

I started to program two months back. I have completed HTML and CSS so far and am now building one project a week on Github to polish my design skills. Be it bad design or good one, I post it on github anyways. I am also a traveler. I love the idea of getting work done while traveling to other states/countries. I hail from India. I am seeing most remote jobs posted online demand 2-4 years of work experience. But I have none. No real work experience as a developer. How do I get a break into remote developer job?Though I have recently started coding, I plan to focus more on the backend side with node js and sql data base as I already know it since school time. I have a bachelors degree in electronics engineering if that anyhow matters. So give your advice on how to find remote backend dev jobs.

1 Like

There are a lot of threads on this subject, but some salient points to consider:

• you would be extremely lucky to find a junior remote job – it isn’t unheard of but it’s uncommon
  • you would be unbelievably lucky to find a remote job with that little experience
  • it is easier to train employees (and for employees to learn) in a one-on-one situation, on-site
  • there has to be a level of trust with a remote position, and that level is easier to reach with demonstrable experience (often significant experience)
  • software developers and software development are expensive things, so companies want to mitigate the risk of hiring duds; rightly or wrongly remote devs are often seen as a risk
  • payment of individual remote employees is trivial if they are citizens of the country the company they are employed by is based, it is non-trivial otherwise
  • software development isn’t different from any other high-skill in-demand job; there is a huge need for experienced developers, and many many companies will hire remote workers to plug specific skill gaps. But there is much, much less need for remote junior positions