Restarting my career life, trying to leave SSDI behind

Hello and Thanks for reading. :slightly_smiling_face:

I’ll start by saying Thank You FCC. This is such a great resource for someone in my unique situation. I’ve been living on SSI and/or SSDI (social security disability) since 1999. Even though I have a degree in Computer Science and I was a certified Web Dev back in 2008 (now defunct).

I found it was near impossible for me to find work back then in IT of any kind (2008, When the bottom dropped out of IT work in the US). I was hit with the double whammy of not being able to find meaningful work and SSDI wouldn’t allow me to do so without losing my medical benefits. I just spent the next decade until now, doing odd computer repair jobs and selling stuff online for spare income.

I decided I’ve had enough of living on next to nothing. So, I’ve resolved to get back in the game and update my skill set. Learn to code in a updated lang. Then hopefully to find meaningful employment and/or opportunity. Obviously, I can’t afford to cough up 2000+ Dollars for a coding bootcamp somewhere, nor afford to travel and stay somewhere on top of that. Simply out of the budget and I have a home to maintain. So, FCC is a boon to me. The whole free bootcamp thing is great. Back in the day (80s-2000s), I had to go buy books and such, then teach myself by ‘feeling around in the dark’ so to speak; then pay an ungodly amount for a certification test that may or may not help one get a job.
Thank you again. If nothing else; I have something to show a potential employer.