SASS/LESS etc in the workplace

How prominent are CSS pre-processors in the real world? Just curious if they are a standard these days so I have some insight on how much attention to pay to them.

I am a sr developer for the e-comm team at Wendy’s. We use LESS on several projects. It can’t hurt to be familiar with it, but I wouldn’t spend too much time on it. it’s the sort of thing most places would just expect you to pick up once you are there.

1 Like

could I look at jQuery the same way?

Never worked anywhere that hasn’t used one, it’s very difficult to maintain CSS code at the best of times, so a preprocessor is generally seen as a necessity mainly for a. variables and b. splitting code into modules.

Scss won, though Less is used a bit. PostCSS can do everything Scss can do and is a lot faster to compile but more of a pig to set up. You get variables out of the box with native CSS now so that’s becoming less of a necessity, but the modularisation bit continues to be important, a preprocessor makes it dead simple.

They’re very easy to use, just a layer on top of CSS; as @Jason_L says don’t spend too much time on it. Just be aware of them.

jQuery is becoming much less important because a large % of the things it introduced to fix problems with browsers have now been taken up by browsers. It’s still really useful for some things, be aware of it, it’s a very good library and it’s used all over the place. But actively removing jQuery from codebases is pretty common, as is starting new projects without it, because it’s a lot less necessary nowadays.

Also it’s a direct DOM manipulation library. So if you use something like Angular/React/Vue etc, they get rid of that manual manipulation step, handle it for you, so jQuery is completely unnecessary if you’re using that. jQuery is a good fit for little bits of interactive stuff on a website, it’s a bad fit for JS apps which is where a lot of stuff has gone in the direction of.

4 Likes