Saving data to go further with React

Hi,

I’ve started React few weeks ago. I am still a beginner but I’d like to start saving my data as files or in databases for my apps.
For example, I have a todo-app but right now I can only add/delete/modify items. I’d like to save my items to use them later.
I also want to make a ‘storage’ app, like “what do I have right now in my closets ?”.

What should I use to do things like that ? JSON files or databases ?

Really depends on the type of data. Generally, a database is a nice way of storing stuff like this, and personally, I’ve been tinkering with Firebase as a great way of setting up a react app without a complete back-end. That said… how comfortable are you with consuming an API? Pretty much any data-saving (unless you use LocalStorage and only save it into the browser’s storage) is going to involve some sort of API or data-fetching.

I don’t really understand “consuming an API”.
I started the FCC part on Node.js/Express and I also want to try MongoDB (I struggle with tests and stuff).
My goal is mainly to get data from a database to build items that I could render after.

Okay, so node and mongoose. Have you got into the node section of FCC yet? There, you go through building a (for example) URL shortener API. It interfaces with mongoose via Node, and returns a JSON object based on front-end actions.

You will perform some action on the front end, and then pass that to (I’d assume) a node server, whether by a post request, or some such. Node will do something with that, probably do something with mongoose, and return you a JSON object containing something.

An API, or Application Programming Interface, is how the front end and the back end can communicate. If you send something to a known endpoint where node is waiting, and it will send you back something, you’re “consuming” that API.

In your case, you might set up a node server listening for:

GET /todos       // a request for all todos as a JSON object