Scheduling/Structuring Study time

Hi all!

I am brand new to FCC, just stumbled upon this resource online while searching for ways to learn programming. I had some experience with Java in High School through an AP Computer Science course, but ended up going the education route in College. 11 years since my last experience coding, and looking to jump back in with the goal of changing careers.

I had some questions as I get started reviewing the material:

1. How long would you all estimate that it would be for someone to go through this curriculum and be “job ready”? I am very ambitious with my goals and hoped to make this change within 12-18 months, but if that is unrealistic, any feedback is appreciated.
  2. How is it recommended that you break up the sections and coursework? I work well with structured/scheduled times, so just wonder how everyone else did that.
  3. Do you take notes, or do anything else outside of just the FCC coursework to ensure you retain the information you are learning? Do you recommend study materials in addition to the online learning?

Any advice you have for a newbie who is definitely wanting to dive in, but a little nervous since it is a field I have almost zero experience in. I’ve read the success stories and the challenges, but just looking for some more practical guidance. Thanks!

1 Like

It honestly depends on your familiarity with the subject and study habits.

12 to 18 months is plenty to get through the curriculum and be job ready(which probably requires a little more than just the FCC curriculum), but maybe a little optimistic for completing a career change. Getting a job is an entire journey all to itself. They don’t just hire you right as you finish learning.