Search entire array for number of occurrence of index value

I am new to JS and am trying to get a function to take the value of an array (at say index 0) and compare it to another array to find out how many times that value (index 0) is found in the other array, and add that number to a variable (currentCount += 1); then look at the next value (index 1) and do the same thing, etc… until all the index spots are reviewed. I have MOST of the code, but not sure how to loop through the whole comparing array before advancing to next index #. Any help would be appreciated.

PS - I have seen certain examples that use (what I will call) advanced JS, but my understanding is that I am only supposed to use what we have learned so far (1st Semester) - which has not included “reduce”, “.indexOf()”, “every”, “prototype”…etc.

A sample of what I have attempted to do is below (don’t laugh!):

function findZipCodeOccurance() {
	"use strict";
// other variables and Arrays are listed GLOBALLY in main program...
	var currentCount;
        var index;

currentCount = INITIAL_VALUE;

for (index = 0; index < uniqueZipCodeArray.length; index += 1) {
        if (uniqueZipCodeArray[index] === duplicateZipCodeArray) {  // <-- not sure what should go here
			currentCount += 1;
			totalOccuranceArray[index] = currentCount + 1;
		}
	}
}

As always some 'pseudo-coding` can be of hands.

These are the ‘steps’ to what you are asking:

1 - look at every element in one array.

for ( i; i < array1.length; i++) // look at array1[i]

2 - look at every element in the second array

for (z; z< array2.length; z++) // look at array2[z]

3 - if the element in the second array is equal to the element in the first array increment a counter:

if (array2[z] === array1[i]) counter++

then it’s just a matter of converting this into an actual working code:

/*
* @param {array} a1  - array that we want to know the values
* @param {array} a2 - array that we want to count in it