Seek and Destroy solution questions

Hi!
I’ve been stuck at Seek and Destroy problem for too long, so I checked the solution. I know, it’s not a good thing in learning process.

What exactly happens when Array.prototype.slice.call(arguments) is being used inside of a function? Or

• arr.filter(Boolean);
  • Array.from(arguments).slice(1);
    And where would I learn those things in more detail? Because I have to say, FCC resources are not enough for me. I suppose I should’ve learned about Boolean object in some of previous challenges, but it’s like taking it to completely different level.
    I have some background in Java, and gotta admit, things like Array.prototype.slice.call(arguments), are in no way object oriented, MDN didn’t help me at all, and StackExchange just confused me with some things I have never seen.
    It just feels like I am expected to be comfortable with OO, where I’m completely not, the only solution I came up with on my own was this pre-1970s long procedure with "if"s, "for"s, temporary array(s) etc.

If it helps, think of Array.prototype.slice as a static method. We have to reference the function there because the arguments object isn’t actually an array - if you tried arguments.slice(), you’d get an error. So, to call slice on it, we have to pass the arguments object to call, which is just the same as arguments.slice(). The reason you want to do this is because slice returns an array which lets you operate on the function’s arguments with array methods and loops.

Array.from(arguments).slice(1)

Array.from is a newer method that does the same thing as above, but in a more readable way. slice is used because the first argument to the function is the array being changed and all we want is an array of the objects to destroy.

arr.filter(Boolean)

Boolean (with a capital B) is a constructor method. Any expression you pass in will be evaluated and the return value is a boolean representing the expression’s truthiness.