Seeking Career Change Advice

Hi, I’ve been in the shadows of the FCC forum for years, mostly checking out posts in getting a dev job for inspiration here and there. Thanks for this.

First, a little backstory: I’ve been working in a factory for about 10 years now. A few years back I hacked together a pixel reading bot to automate foreign exchange trades, at the time I considered it a trading experiment and not a programming one. The trading algorithm I wanted to test didn’t work out too well, but it was just play money anyway and it was fun building the bot, even though it didn’t work perfectly either. It did ignite my interest in programming.

However, both my job and my interest level fluctuate in the demands they place on my time. For the last six months or so my job has been down to only 40 hours a week and my time has been used semi wisely in this time, to the point where I’ve developed a decent framework of understanding for this web dev stuff… I would say I have mostly been studying the greater ecosystem and figuring out how all the puzzle pieces fit together, which might not be the best way to start, but I felt a deep need to do it… I still have to stop myself from spending hours reading source code I don’t understand of required middleware used in projects that I make way more difficult for myself than they need to be. But, I can spin up a web server on a virtual machine and make a dynamic site linked to a database that looks like absolute crap. Feels good.

The Question: