Seriously, how do I get my foot into the door?

I have applied to many places with no response back. I have a github profile with many projects. I attend Meetups in my area. I study diligently. I have been doing this for 3 years now.

I keep seeing mostly .NET, Java, and Wordpress around my area, which I have never touched.

Everyday, I keep trying not to pull my hair out and give up.

I am seeking employers that will hire me with my skillset. I live in Tennessee. I am skilles in HTML, CSS (SCSS), JavaScript, PHP (mainly procedural with some OOP), SQL, and NodeJS/Express. I have been studying VueJS lately.

I seek junior-level positions aimed for those with minimal experience where I can learn from a team of experienced developers, almost like an internship but paid.

Getting your first dev job is tough, you will have to work hard and even have some luck (being in the right place at the right time kind of luck). First thing you should do is to build a strong portfolio, if you donā€™t have one then start doing it now. A portfolio is the only way people can see what you can do.

If you do have a portfolio, then submit it for review. Also learn technologies are in demand near your area, unless you are willing to move.

1 Like

@Gilbert1391

.Net and Java for web developementā€¦yuck!!!

I do have a github account with plenty of projects I have worked on

When you get a new job you might need to learn a new technology you donā€™t feel very comfortable with, and you will have to deal with it.

A GitHub account is not near the same as a portfolio where people can see your projects live, recruiters or people from HR for instance donā€™t know anything about GitHub (and why should they?), so they wonā€™t waste 1 minute checking your GitHub account, they are too busy for that.

I strongly suggest you to build a portfolio, with no prior experience a portfolio is the only way you can show people the things you can do.

1 Like