Should I even start?

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie, I’ve had basic instructions to html, css and JS before, but that’s about it. I would love to learn programming, but I feel very discouraged. There just seems to be SO much to learn with html and JS already, but it seems to me that in order to get a programming job, the companies expect you to be overall IT genius as well - you know the one that fixes everyone’s computers, be it software or hardware issue, be able to figure out network issues with routers and so on.

So please tell me- if I’m not a natural IT nerd (and trust me, I look up to them, it’s by no means an insult) that lives and breathes everything IT - is there even a point to start? I work and have kids and family, I don’t have unlimited time to learn everything about everything related to computers unfortunately.

4 Likes

What is it that you find interesting about programming? Is your main goal to get a new job, or would you be happy to just learn how to make cool things?

1 Like

I’m a newbie, I’ve had basic instructions to html, css and JS before, but that’s about it. I would love to learn programming, but I feel very discouraged.

I’ve always been interested in programming. But I’m 48 now, so what’s the point? What finally got me over the edge was a high school friend who recently decided to go to law school. If he can do that, I can do this.

There just seems to be SO much to learn with html and JS already

That’s what makes it an in demand job. If it could be mastered in 3 weeks, it would be a minimum wage job. Consider it an investment.

…it seems to me that in order to get a programming job, the companies expect you to be overall IT genius as well - you know the one that fixes everyone’s computers, be it software or hardware issue, be able to figure out network issues with routers and so on.