The minority card [CLOSED]

Hello campers!

I completed Treehouse’s Front End Track and now I’m working through FCC to build a strong portfolio. As part of that process I’m also developing my personal brand.

As a self-taught coder living in SF with a business degree I’m aware of my disadvantages, therefore I need to play all my strengths…but I’m a bit concerned of my inherent minority status. From the news and the web I noticed that at least in the Bay Area, companies are trying to hire more minorities, but how do I go about it, since it seems a two edge sword

Pros:

• Benefits of diverse workforce
  • Increase the percentage of women (13%) in tech
  • Increase the percentage of Latino woman (2%) in tech

Cons:

• Tokenism
  • Racism
  • Gender bias

Any thoughts or recommendations?

https://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/organization/our-insights/why-diversity-matters
https://www.nsf.gov/statistics/2017/nsf17310/digest/occupation/overall.cfm

1 Like

I’m not sure how you would “play the card” except maybe to apply to programs that provide mentoring/etc to women or PoC.

Hi Ariel,
For example the title of my portfolio could be:
Awesome Coder - Is a name, but I’m not giving more details beyond that I’m an awesome coder

My Name - Web Developer
From my name you probably could get that I’m a woman

About Section / Bio
Hi, My name is Ms X I’m a web developer, x, y and latino woman…

Just your name is going to make itiobvious that you are a Latino woman. Rubbing it in their face could backfire IMHO. I don’t have a lot of experience, I’m still just learning how to code, but this is how I feel about it. I also think that it could make other people and yourself feel that you were hired for being a minority and not for being awesome.

2 Likes

My advice is don’t go there at all on the resume and focus on passion.