Should this be happening? - Algorithm Scripting

I am relatively new to coding and JavaScript , and currently on the intermediate algorithm scripting. Starting off the algorithms (basic included) i have sometimes noticed my code is way too over complicated and lengthy. Is this normal?

Just recently, i did the Roman Numeral conversion challenge. Here was my solution --> https://repl.it/@John_Nicole/Intermediate-Algorithm-Scripting-Roman-Numeral-Converter

I felt very confidant of myself when i finally manged to do it. It may be 86 lines, but it does do 1 to 1 million conversion. To check out what other people did, i went to freeCodeCamp Algorithm Challenge Guide: Roman Numeral Converter. Then their it was, a 10 line solution that i had no idea how it works. It may only do up until 4,999 until it just repeats 1,000 a ton of times until it reaches your number, but its still very compact. Should i feel disappointed that i spent 2 days on this for it being over complicated?

Did everyone else write compact code like that made by professionals when they first started FCC? Should i be worried?

I am using ES5, which is just bigger in general compared to ES6. So is this a optical illusion?

Thanks for any feedback

Oh, good god no!

I teach music, when I’m lucky, jazz. Of course improvising solos is big thing. And one of the things I always tell my students is, “If you want to play good solos, first you’ve got to play a lot of bad ones.”

I’d say the same of coding, “If you want to write good code, first you’ve got to write a lot of bad code.”

But that’s part of the process. After you’ve written your version, I’d recommend seeking out some other solutions and see what they came up with. See if you can understand it.

As you get more experienced, your sixths sense about the best algorithmic approach is will improve.

Just put in the time.