Started FCC in Nov/2016, got my first front-end dev job this month

Hey guys, like the title says, I was hired as a front-end developer after about 9-10 months after I started FCC.

I’ve always liked to read threads about other campers who got a job, they gave me a lot of motivation and optimism during my studies. So I think it would be nice to share some thoughts with you. :slight_smile: Of course, it is all about my experience.

As for my background, I have a bachelor degree not related to CS, but I did have some experience in a few programming languages, especially Python, which I used for text and data manipulation.

Some impressions I have got from my studies:

• I think it is really important is to really learn the basics. Truly learn JavaScript before learning React, Angular or even jQuery; learn CSS before learning Bootstrap or Foundation. Your journey will be a lot easier and you will have a btter understanding of what and how things are happening in these frameworks.

• You should keep an eye in what the companies are asking to hire someone in the position you want. For me, I was looking for a Front End position and it was clear that overall the most requested skills were good knowledge of ReactJS or Angular. I learned a bit of both (and VueJS, but unfortunately there isn’t a lot of demand for it here in Brazil) and chose to focus in Angular.

• Learning Git it is not that difficult but I only got the hang of it after I started using for real in my projects. And you can trust me, it is very useful.

After I knew I had a solid knowledge of the basics of Webdev and a few good projects to show, I bought a domain and hosted my portfolio to start applying for jobs.