Struggling with the first projects

Hey FCC Folks,

Just a quick vent session here from a complete novice. I started FreeCodeCamp 11 days ago with no previous programming experience. It took me seven days, putting in two hours of work, to complete the HTML/CSS portion of the curriculum. Throughout that time there was one thought that kept coming back “You’re not going to remember any of this”. It seem like a lot of new information, and I knew that doing a one minute exercise wasn’t going to help me retain the concepts and terms.

Fast forward to the very first Responsive Web Design project and behold; my fears have come true. I have been struggling to put anything decent together. I can’t remember most of the stuff, and mainly just feel like I did something wrong.

No, I’m not quitting. This is something that I’m going to figure out. But let this be a heads-up to all of those who come in with no previous experience. You will have to google a lot, go back, re-think stuff, fail and do it again. There is no fast way to learning this stuff. Rushing through the exercises is not the answer. Stay strong FCC family! Don’t quit!

Any encouraging messages are welcomed :joy:
Happy new years to all!

16 Likes

You’re also going to feel like that when you start the JavaScript challenges, the Api challenges, the Data Viz… oh wait, thats not encouraging is it?! :joy: For real though, it is like that. But you are learning fast that its not about remembering everything, its about being introduced a concept, picking up research skills (and it is a skill to figure out what to search for to find the answers you seek) and apply those new concepts to complete the projects…all that combined is what helps reinforce your knowledge. The more you do this, through repetition, you’ll start to remember without having to look it up.